USD MBA Students Studying Abroad – Fall 2014

USD’s Ahlers Center for International Business is dedicated to offering students international experiences, including International Consulting Practicums, Short-Term Graduate Study Abroad sessions, and Semester Exchange Programs. Many of my fellow classmates chose to mobilize the Semester Exchange Program opportunity this fall. Here is a brief summary of their experience so far, in their own words.

Andrea Ruiz
2nd year Full-Time MBA student – International Business track, General MBA

“After sharing classrooms in San Diego with an awesome cohort representing 11 countries, I didn’t think it could get more international than that–but it did! I’m spending a semester at KEDGE Business School in Bordeaux, France. My classes will include Sustainable Supply Chains, Retail Strategies, Social Entrepreneurship, Qualitative Marketing Research, and an intensive French language course.

As much as I thought I understood French culture, my preconceptions are turned upside down every day. Class schedules and classrooms are never fixed, locals are closed off, trams and buses are always packed, stores are often closed when I need them, and my head hurts at the end of the day from trying to communicate in a new language.

Then, I take a breath. And I capture the lessons that I will take home – the adaptability, the serenity under pressure, and the curiosity that drives success in any business challenge. It’s a blessing to be in this beautiful city – which is inscribed in UNESCO’s World Heritage List. What a wonderful place to internalize a little more of what it means to serve, to lead and to grow!”

Andrea's clicks- Bordeaux, France

Andrea’s clicks- Bordeaux, France

Michael Foster
2nd year Full-Time MBA student – International Business track, Corporate Finance Concentration

“Hello from Spain! I am currently studying at IE Business School in Madrid. So far, I have been impressed with the professors and cohort. In each class you’ll find a wide variety of countries represented, so discussions are typically very insightful. My favorite class in term 1 has been Trillion Dollar Challenges. As the name states, this class focuses on the biggest problems facing the world and the potential solutions.

In my free time, I have been working on my Spanish and exploring the city. I managed to find a traditional Mexican taco shop that is almost as good as California’s Mexican food. Other than the tacos, I have been enjoying the wide selection of Turkish food. In order to keep my figure, I joined a gym and a basketball league.

If you have the opportunity to study at IE, I highly recommend it. The MBA program is one of the best in Europe and living in Madrid is a great experience.

My classes this semester:

1) Applied Corporate Finance
2) Private Equity and Financial Statements
3) Trillion Dollar Challenges
4) Bootstrapping for Startups
5) Corporate Governance
6) Problem Solving through Creative Design
7) War, Sales, & Marketing”

Michael in Madrid, Spain

Michael in Madrid, Spain

Melissa Canet
2nd year Full-Time MBA student – International Business track, Marketing Concentration

“Hola desde Madrid!

The culture here in Madrid is very different than that of San Diego. So far my Madrid city high lights include not having to deal with parking and taking the metro every day to school. The city is beautiful and very clean. I am currently enrolled in 8 classes here and they are split up into two sessions. My first session classes are:

1) Business Analytics
2) Customer Management and Business Intelligence
3) Emerging Economies
4) Social and Digital Media I
5) How to take a company International

My second session classes are:

1) Mobile Marketing and E-Commerce
2) Search Marketing & Social Media (II)
3) Premium, Luxury & Creative Business Entrepreneurship

The students here are very diverse and come from all over the world. I can walk into the cafeteria and will hear five or six different languages being spoken. There is a great group of both full time and exchange students here, and all of them bring so much to the table. Being here is truly one of the highlights of my MBA program, and I’m so grateful to USD for offering it.”

Melissa in Madrid, Spain

Melissa in Madrid, Spain

I hope you enjoyed reading this post. Watch this space for more on semester exchange programs!

-Prita Karanjkar

This entry was posted in class experiences, full-time MBA program, IMBA program, study abroad, travel abroad and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

