Give Thanks and Reflect

Faculty, Staff and Students Celebrate USD's Top 20 MBA Program Ranking

Faculty, Staff and Students Celebrate USD’s Top 20 Part Time MBA Program Ranking

…Thanksgiving at USD

I think all USD MBA candidates have a lot of things to be very thankful for. Let me just say in advance that I am thankful the finance exam we just took this morning is over. Now that I’m over that little hump, I can actually reflect on how grateful I am for the opportunities I’ve been given, my friends and family, and everything I’ve learned in these few short months. I originally thought of writing out a top five list of things I’m thankful for this year, but that list quickly grew well beyond ten things. So in the interest of keeping things somewhat shorter I’ve focused on school.

I have to say thank you to so many of my fellow students who have spent untold hours with me in the Crypt-like basement and the more Harry Potteresque main floor of the library coaching me through some of the tougher accounting and finance assignments. Equally, if not more important, I’ve learned so many intangible skills from my fellow students as well. Thinking strategically and seeing the bigger picture are just a few things that I’ve learned from students beyond the classroom. It would be remiss of me not to mention the hard working students, faculty and staff that kept USD’s evening MBA in Bloomberg’s Top 20 MBA Programs List. The caliber of my fellow students and professors is humbling and working with you is something to truly be thankful for.

Faculty, Staff and Students Celebrate USD's Top 20 MBA Program RankingSome of the things I might normally overlook must also be mentioned. A big thank you is due to my wife who puts up with my long hours away from home while I’m studying at night. I’m sure many of your significant-others can relate. I’m thankful for the campus tram drivers who are always up beat and friendly no matter how early or late it is. We all have to be thankful for beautiful sunny days and incredible sunsets on campus, even if those sunny days sometimes make it hard to sit in class. Don’t forget about the people back home who are rooting hard for you and love you no matter what you get on that finance exam. If there is one thing we should all learn as MBAs it’s to never forget those that help you along the way.

Written by Paul Pintek, 1st year IMBA student. Prior to enrolling at USD Paul served for 7 years as an Officer in the US Marines.

About paulpintek

Paul Pintek, 1st year IMBA student. Prior to enrolling at USD Paul served for 7 years as an Officer in the US Marines.
This entry was posted in class experiences, classmates, Deloitte, internships and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

